Impressed by Twhirl and Adobe Air

After starting up my laptop this morning, I launched Twhirl and it greeted me with an available update message.

Twhirl_update

So I triggered the update process.  It was swift, clean and re-launched Twhirl without problems; and without further user intervention.

I can now take advantage of a myriad of changes and updates since my previous version.  (http://www.twhirl.org/changes)

 

Ok, so self-updating applications aren’t new; but I am impressed about the underlying platform (Adobe Air). It is already demonstrating clearly it’s robustness and reliability as a rapidly deployable application base; and yet versatility in presentation and UI design.

My mind (bearing in mind I’m not any way an expert in development platforms) it poses the question whether Air can make a serious play for those applications currently developed on a Java based platform such as the Eclipse RCP?

Technorati Tags: ,
Leave a Reply

